Neuroscience Faculty

Director

Elaine Day
Director of the Neuroscience Minor
Associate Professor of Biology
509 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-5444 | lainyday@olemiss.edu
Research: behavioral neuroscience: evolution & neuroplasticity of brain regions

Faculty

Nicole Ashpole
Associate Professor of Psychology & Pharmacology
311 Faser Hall
Phone: 662-915-2407 | nmashpol@olemiss.edu
Research: pharmacology and behavioral neuroscience: methamphetamine neurotoxicity, drugs of abuse, the aging process

 

Richard Buchholz
Associate Professor of Biology
104 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-5012 | byrb@olemiss.edu
Research: animal behavior: host-parasite interactions, conservation biology

 

Alberto J. del Arco
Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
233 Turner Center
Phone: 662-915-5528 | adelarco@olemiss.edu
Research: behavioral neuroscience,: neurophysiology of stress and psychiatric disorders in animal models

 

Robert Doerksen 
Associate Professor of Medicinal Chemistry
421 Fraser Hall
662-915-5880 | rjd@olemiss.edu
Research: computational medicinal chemistry

 

Carolyn Wiles Higdon
Professor of Communication Sciences & Disorders
308 George Hall
Phone: 662-915-5122 | chigdon@olemiss.edu
Research: assistive technology; augmentative communications; autism & early intervention; communicative & central auditory processing disorders; evidence based medicine & clinical outcomes; laryngectomy; medical voice issues; spasmodic, oral, & pharyngeal dysphagia; pharmacology & communication disorders

 

Toshikazu IkutaTossi Ikuta
Assistant Professor of Communication Sciences & Disorders
311 George Hall
662-915-5121 | tikuta@olemiss.edu
Research: neuroimaging, dopaminergic cognitive modulation, human brain genetics, auditory & language processing, computationa; modeling

 

Mika Jekabsons
Associate Professor of Biology
110 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-3998 | jekabson@olemiss.edu
Research: cell biology: bioenergetics, apoptosis, metabolismmedicine & clinical outcomes; laryngectomy; medical voice issues; spasmodic, oral, & pharyngeal dysphagia; pharmacology & communication disorders

 

Adam Jones
Assistant Professor of Computer and Information Science
217 Weir Hall
662-915-7057 | jajone13@olemiss.edu
Research: virtual reality

 

Bradley Jones
Associate Professor of Biology
122 Shoemaker Hall
Phone 662-915-1700 | jonesbw@olemiss.edu
Research: cell biology: cell differentiation, nervous system development, drosophila genetics

 

LearyChristopher Leary
Assistant Professor of Biology
424 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-1087 | cjleary@olemiss.edu
Research: animal behavior: acoustic communication, reproductive endocrinology, neurobiology

 

Teresa Lefmann
Assistant Professor of Social Work
212 Longstreet
Phone: 662-915-7336 | tlefmann@olemiss.edu
Research: epigenetics, infant brain development, neuroscience, prenatal stress, and social work

 

S. Narasimba Murthy
Associate Professor of Pharmaceuticals
113 Faser Hall
662-915-5164 | murthy@olemiss.edu
Research: development of noninvasive techniques for drug delivery, drug sampling and therapy

 

Jason Paris
Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
315 Faser Hall
662-915-3096 | parisj@olemiss.edu
Research: addiction, again, behavioral neuroscience, cell culture, neuroAIDS, neurodocrinology, neuropsychiatric disorders, rodent models, stress

 

Gregg Roman
Professor and Chair of Biology
214 Shoemaker Hall
662-915-7203 | groman@olemiss.edu
Research: molecular and neural mechanisms of bahavioral plasticity

 

Karen E. Sabol
Associate Professor of Psychology & Pharmacology
302B Peabody Hall
Phone: 662-915-1206 | kasabol@olemiss.edu
Research: pharmacology and behavioral neuroscience; methamphetamine neurotoxicity, drugs of abuse, the aging process

 

Gregory Snyder
Associate Professor of Communication Sciences & Disorders
310 George Hall
662-915-1202 | gsnyder@olemiss.edu
Research: genetic and neurological study of fluency disorders, motor theory & neurosciences, perception & production of language

 

Kenneth J. Sufka
Professor of Psychology & Pharmacology
311B Peabody Hall
Phone: 662-915-7728 | pysufka@olemiss.edu
Research: pharmacology & behavioral neuroscience: animal models of anxiety-depression & chronic pain

 

Roy ThurstonRoy Thurston
Assistant Professor of Special Education
306 Guyton Hall
662-915-1781  | rthursto@olemiss.edu
Research: traumatic brain injury, neuroscience applications in education

 

Dwight Waddell
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
302 Anderson Hall
Phone 662-915-7231 | waddell@olemiss.edu
Research: cognitive neuroscience/neuropsychology, neuronmechamics/biomechanics, computer brain interfaces, engineering design

 

Kristie Willett
Professor of Pharmacology
303A Faser Hall
662-915-6691 | kwillett@olemiss.edu
Research: tba

 

Dr. WishonDonovan Wishon
Assistant Professor of Philosophy & Religion
015 Bryant Hall
662-915-5443 | dwishon@olemiss.edu
Research: philosophy of mind/consciousness, philosophy of language, history of analytic philosophy

 

Xin Ye
Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
233 Turner Center
Phone: 662-915-5521 | xye1@olemiss.edu
Research: motor unit, Neuroscience Physiology, Surface Electromyography